Stuff Bringing You Down?

Stuff.  We all struggle to some degree with collecting it, cleaning it, maintaining it, caring about it, collecting more of it, and then eventually getting rid of it.  It can be an ugly cycle.  Why is this!?  Let’s be honest, stuff (gadgets, outdoor gear, whatever you’re in to) does bring a lot of joy to our lives when is isn’t so much that we cannot maintain a healthy lifestyle because our stuff has taken over.

Many of us struggle with a balance of just enough stuff.

Make a point to have a balance of just enough stuff so that everything you own is something you really use, love, or display with pride.

My husband and I are limited to our humble 730 sq. foot house and therefore it wouldn’t take much for us to look like a family from an episode of “Hoarders”.  While I used to find this small space very frustrating because I couldn’t collect all the stuff I “needed” to own, I am now so much more content living with only what this house can hold and constantly working toward living with less.  After seeing this video about Tiny Houses, I am even more motivated to live with less.

Today at the gym, a friend of mine and I were discussing why some feel this urge to collect more and more stuff.  Her theory, and I am sure some of it is true, is that much of how many material things someone owns can be traced back to their upbringing – whether they were poor or rich, had cool toys or were not allowed to have any neat things.

An article I read last week from the New York Times had some great insight about living with less stuff.  When one really thinks about stuff – what it means to them, why our society thrives on having the latest thing, and why shopping is a top ‘hobby’ for so many Americans, it can really be depressing.  A I love shopping, so I get it.  But when you consider that houses are now twice as large as they were in the ’50s, with half as many people living in them and yet garages are STILL to full to park a car, there’s a serious problem here.

An interesting way to look at homes in the 21st century.

An interesting way to look at homes in the 21st century.

This weekend I cleaned out my closet to try and purge some of the things I have too many of.  I have 13 jackets, yes THIRTEEN – SICK!  Who needs that many coats!?  No one.  I am trying to pare them down…

What I really want to drive home (and then I will get off my soap box) is that too much stuff just becomes a road block to a life rich with experiences, connections to important people in your life, and opportunities to evolve into the best version of you.  When we let go of material possessions, we open ourselves to life’s awesome opportunities.

I love what Graham Hill said, “My space is small.  My life is big.”  How big is your life?

One way I make my life big is by going on adventures such as this beach backpack trip from 2012.

I try to keep my life big by going on adventures such as this beach backpack trip from 2012.

 

2 thoughts on “Stuff Bringing You Down?

  1. I love the quote, how true!! I go to yard sales and thrift stores, which I think turn into alot of clutter for alot of us. So, I’m downsizing, and taking back my space. I want my home to be simple and easy to clean. I’m a work in progress. Best wishes!!

    • I am a recovering thrift store junkie myself and still love to go! Now I try to ask myself when considering a purchase, “Is it something I need? Can use right away? Or love too much to not buy.” When things are such a great bargain, it can be difficult to resist purchasing! Take care and thanks for commenting!

Leave a comment